Newbie question - how to get started?

Ask a question, or offer help to others
thrashercharged

Newbie question - how to get started?

Post by thrashercharged » Wed Dec 02, 2009 5:07 pm

I just found and downloaded this program and I'm totally confused. Later I found this message board but I still haven't found any answers. Is there a "How to get started" tutorial anywhere? I simply want to put some notes down for piano - treble and bass clef.

I've read all the reviews about how intuitive this program is, but sorry, I'm having trouble, and I'm not computer illiterate by any means (I'm a software engineer), and well versed on a variety of software (most all MS stuff, Adobe's suite, etc.) - I'm just pointing out where my PC skills stand. I've watched the Musettedemo.wmv file and it isn't much help. Watching someone open an existing file and make changes at full speed isn't helping me get started.

I have figured out that there are 2 modes. Using Setup>Demo apparently puts you in full mode but doesn't allow you to save your file. Using the the program as is, you can save your work but you don't get the Dynamics menu, hence you don't get the All menu either. Are there any other differences? By the way, the mere existence of these 2 modes wasn't at all obvious, I only found out about them after a lot of reading of both the help files (which does allude to there being 2 modes) and past posts in this forum, and I'm still confused as to what all the differences are.

I want to save my files, so I until I figure out whether I'll be using this program and hence purchasing it, I'll be using the non-demo mode, so my questions are directed towards the non-demo mode.

1. The program opens up and gives me a staff with treble clef only - how do I get both treble and bass?
2. How do I add double staffs?